top of page
  • marilenavlandi

Solo Travel in Athens - 'I'm so glad I did this alone!'

Embarking on a solo journey to Athens, in 2022, was like stepping into a dream I'd only dared to imagine. The idea of wandering through the heart of a city so rich in history and culture felt simultaneously exhilarating and nerve-wracking. Little did I know that the ancient streets of Athens would not only tell tales of the past but would become the canvas for my own stories of adventure and self-discovery.


Downtown Athens: Where History Breathes


The moment I set foot in downtown Athens, I felt like I was walking through the pages of history. The Acropolis, standing tall against the sky, whispered tales of gods and legends. As I meandered through the streets, the juxtaposition of ancient ruins and modern life painted a picture of a city that has gracefully embraced its heritage while bustling with the energy of today.



Worries about safety as a solo traveler quickly dissipated. Athens downtown, with its lively squares and well-lit streets, felt like a haven. The coexistence of locals and fellow adventurers created an ambiance that encouraged not just solo exploration, but a genuine connection with the city and its people.


Bars and Restaurants, A Feast for the Senses


Oh, the culinary adventure in Athens! Every corner seemed to hide a culinary gem waiting to be discovered. From tucked-away tavernas serving up classic moussaka to trendy spots putting a modern spin on traditional dishes, Athens offered a gastronomic journey that my taste buds will never forget.


Plaka, with its cobblestone streets and charming atmosphere, became my go-to spot for dining alone. Outdoor seating allowed me to soak in the ambiance, and the variety of options made every meal feel like a celebration. And let's talk about the prices – surprisingly budget-friendly, allowing me to savor the flavors without breaking the bank.


Friendly Locals, Strangers Turned Friends


The heartwarming hospitality of Athenians transformed my solo escapade into a series of memorable encounters. Locals, always ready with a warm smile or a helping hand, made me feel like a welcomed guest rather than a lone traveler. Conversations flowed effortlessly in cafes, and the willingness to share their city's stories created a sense of camaraderie that went beyond language barriers.


Nightlife, A Lot Of It!


As the sun dipped below the horizon, Athens donned a different persona. The city lit up, and so did my nights. Rooftop bars with breathtaking views, hidden gems with live music, and underground clubs pulsating with beats – Athens' nightlife catered to every mood. Dancing under the stars with strangers-turned-friends made every night an unforgettable celebration.


Affordability, A Pleasant Surprise!


The beauty of Athens extended beyond its historic sites and friendly faces – it was surprisingly affordable. From grabbing a quick bite from a street vendor to finding a cozy spot to stay, Athens offered a budget-friendly experience without compromising on authenticity.


Athens became more than a destination; it became a chapter in my own story. The city's downtown, with its ancient allure and modern charm, set the stage for my solo adventure of a lifetime. Athens, with its safety, delectable cuisine, friendly locals, vibrant nightlife, and budget-friendly options, proved to be not just a place on the map but a living, breathing companion on my journey of self-discovery.


12 views0 comments
bottom of page